UdK Berlin Rundgang 2021

Presence is Not the Opposite of Absence

Artist Training Khaled Barakeh Hana El-Sagini Hend Elbalouty Marian Aazer Razan Sabbagh Rozeen Bisharat Ruba Salameh
Friday, October 29, 2021
17:00

Presence is Not the Opposite of Absence is a group exhibition by Hana El-Sagini, Hend Elbalouty, Marian Aazer, Razan Sabbagh, Rozeen Bisharat and Ruba Salameh, six female artists who together form the art collective Hexa. At the UdK Rundgang 2021, the collective presents the works and outcome of their exhibition ABSENCE, available to the public for the first time in a new installation made specifically for the occasion.

ABSENCE was a performance art exhibition that took place in May 2021, where neither audience, artists, nor artworks were — or could be — physically present due to the lockdown in Germany. As a response to the situation, the six artists had for months been documenting their lockdown lives in A4 format from their different geographical locations. This effort culminated in the exhibition, where each artist remotely yet simultaneously presented her works from her specific location by connecting to and printing from one of six printers installed in the otherwise empty exhibition space in Berlin during a live streaming of the event. The resulting works on paper and accompanying videos remain anonymous, only showing the date and time of creation, a stream of creation examining the concepts of absence and presence during a global pandemic.

Curated by Khaled Barakeh, the exhibition is presented by the Artist Training at Berlin Career College, in collaboration with coculture, a Berlin-based non-profit organisation dedicated to addressing the challenges faced by displaced artists and cultural producers.

The project Artist Training is a qualification program at Berlin Career College which offers workshops, consulting, and networking activities for professional artists in exile.

Context

UdK Berlin Rundgang 2021

Presence is Not the Opposite of Absence

Artist Training Khaled Barakeh Hana El-Sagini Hend Elbalouty Marian Aazer Razan Sabbagh Rozeen Bisharat Ruba Salameh
Freitag, 29. Oktober 2021
17:00

Presence is Not the Opposite of Absence ist eine Gruppenausstellung von Hana El-Sagini, Hend Elbalouty, Marian Aazer, Razan Sabbagh, Rozeen Bisharat und Ruba Salameh, die zusammen das Künstlerinnen-Kollektiv Hexa bilden. Beim UdK Rundgang 2021 präsentieren sie die Werke und Ergebnisse ihrer Ausstellung ABSENCE, die in einer neuen, eigens für diesen Anlass geschaffenen Installation erstmals der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht werden.

ABSENCE war eine Performance-Ausstellung, die im Mai 2021 stattfand, als aufgrund des Lockdowns in Deutschland weder Publikum noch Künstler*innen oder Kunstwerke physisch anwesend sein konnten. Als Reaktion auf diese Situation hatten die sechs Künstlerinnen monatelang ihr Leben während des Lockdowns an verschiedenen geografischen Standorten im A4-Format dokumentiert. Dieser Schaffensprozess kulminierte in der Ausstellung, in der alle Künstlerinnen ihre Werke simultan, aber aus der Distanz, von ihren jeweiligen Standorten aus, präsentierten. Dazu schickten sie die Werke an sechs Drucker, die in dem ansonsten leeren Ausstellungsraum in Berlin installiert waren und die diese Werke während einer Live-Videoübertragung des Ereignisses ausdruckten. Die daraus resultierenden Papierarbeiten und begleitenden Videos bleiben anonym und zeigen jeweils nur das Datum und die Uhrzeit der Entstehung. So entsteht ein Schaffensstrom, der die Konzepte von Abwesenheit und Präsenz während einer globalen Pandemie untersucht.

Die von Khaled Barakeh kuratierte Ausstellung wird vom Artist Training des Berlin Career College präsentiert und entstand in Zusammenarbeit mit coculture, einem in Berlin ansässigen gemeinnützigen Verein, der sich den Herausforderungen widmet, mit denen exilierte Kunst- und Kulturschaffende konfrontiert sind.

Das Projekt Artist Training ist ein Weiterbildungsangebot am Berlin Career College zur Qualifizierung, Beratung und Vernetzung von professionellen Künstler*innen im Exil.

Kontext